My Genealogy Goals

With the Memorial Day Holiday upon us and I’m having additional two days off from work, I decided that I wanted to jot down my goals.  I find that by jotting them down whether its on paper or in my blog, it helps me to organize them and keep track of them.

Here are the goals that I have:

1)  On Monday, May 31st, first, in the morning, my mom and I will be visiting our families graves and placing a flag on those that have served in the military.  Then, later in the day, I will be working on organizing my mom’s genealogy that she has accumulated.  I had posted a while back about how my mom would research her family tree and in the beginning was organized, but over the years, she hasn’t been so diligent in it and she knows that she has many duplicates in her files.  You can read that post here.  So a little over a month ago, I gathered the first box of her documentation and I brought it home to help her organize it.   Well, in reality, its been in my car ever since.   I have brought the box into the house and will go through it and start the project.  I think I will call it Project Sanchez (that’s the family surname.)  I think that will be a good name.

2)  About a month ago, I had my schedule at work changed.  I went from a straight 8 hour day to what we call a 9/80 work schedule.  This works out to where I get every other Monday off.  I did this so that I could volunteer at my genealogical society but low and behold, they are closed every Monday!  I was a bit disappointed until I figured that I would be off on Tuesday, the day after Memorial Day.  This Monday, Memorial Day, is my regular day off, but because it is a national holiday, I get the next day off.  So, on Tuesday, I will be visiting the Southern California Genealogical Society and their library for the first time.  I will be getting ready for that visit today by checking out their holdings and see which ones pertain to my research and make a list of what I need to look at.  I am very excited to go and I feel that it would be really useful to visit the library before I attend the Jamboree in June.

3)  Next weekend, I will start working on my family reunion.  With the help of one of my sisters, we are planning our Sanchez Family Reunion for the middle of August.  I have been asked by several family members that they would like a family history or something like that to take home.  I have to work on that and on other reunion related activities.

These goals will keep me pretty busy, not just on my upcoming days off, but also on the upcoming weekends as well.  Hope you all have a great Memorial Day.  I am thinking of all of my family members who have served in the military, both here and those who have passed.   They will always be in my hearts.

I am ever so grateful not just for my family members who have served in the military but for ALL of our military personnel in the armed forces.  You all do a wonderful job at keeping our nation safe.  I am honored that you have sacrificed on our nation’s behalf.  Thank you!  I pray that our good Lord will keep you all safe and bring you home to your loved ones safely.  God bless and thank you all!

2 thoughts on “My Genealogy Goals”

Leave a comment